Red sky in the morning….. just beautiful

Mornings are the best time of the day. Apart from the quiet and calm, the world seems new, ready for a fresh start. I just love it. I have always been a morning person and I have seen my fair share of sunrises.

This morning’s was spectacular. There were clouds on the horizon and the first glow of the day started a deep purple, then shifted to stunning red before fading out into yellow (and behind the clouds).

Image

Sunrise over Lake Burley Griffin

I used to gauge the weather by that expression: “Red sky in the morning, sailor take warning. Red sky at night, shepherd’s delight” – seems I grew up with mixed metaphors. Anyway, apparently red in the east in the morning is due to water/dust in the air and forecasting a storm that will come from the west (the weather always comes from west to east). The reverse is true in the evening: a red sunset means a storm is happening in the west – away from you.

There you go!

As I was by the lake, the morning sun looked so good on the Telstra Tower, I had to take a picture of that too. I confess, I digitally altered it a bit afterwards to bring out the red.

Image

Sunrise towards Telstra Tower

Leave a Reply

