French toast made super fantastic using a sandwich press

Sandwich press French toast

Sandwich press French toast

I like to ride my bike. A lot. I do it because it helps to balance my enjoyment of cakes and desserts. The bonus is I feel excellent and it frees my mind and lets me think. I’m totally addicted to it and if I miss a day, I feel edgy. If I miss two days, I start to feel depressed. I usually ride early in the morning, when it is cool and when there is not much traffic on the road.

The irony is that at 6 am I’m usually hungry and invariably spend a good part of my ride thinking about food, in particular what breakfast of 2000 calories I am going to eat as a reward for burning 1000 calories before breakfast. I’m slavishly addicted to French toast in its many forms and these usually top the list.

What I love about this recipe is the lack of mess! And as you cook the French toast in a sandwich press, there’s less fat, because there’s no need to butter any surface.

Wonderful summer berries

Wonderful summer berries

I make this often and I have settled on using thin-ish bread, as because it is two layers thick when cooked, if the bread slices are too thick, the egg mix on the inside never quite cooks through.

Sandwich press French toast

  • Time: 15 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices thin-ish white bread (slightly stale or dried out on the bench for an hour or so)
  • 1 banana
  • handful of blueberries or other fruit
  • 2 eggs
  • 40 ml milk
  • 1 Tb caster sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Method:

  • Lightly whisk the egg, milk, sugar and cinnamon together and pour in a large shallow baking dish. Place the bread in the mix for a minute or two. Flip the bread and let the other side get a little bit egged (not soaked) and flip back over so the less-eggy side is face-up.
  • Pre-heat your sandwich press.
  • To one slice, on the less-eggy side, thinly layer sliced banana and whatever else you like (I like blueberries). Try to avoid bits hanging out the sides, you want to be able to seal the edges.
  • Place the other slice on top so that the eggy sides are facing outwards and the less eggy sides are towards the middle.
  • Squish the slices together a bit to seal the edges and place the sandwich into a pre-heated sandwich press.
  • Cook to your liking! I usually start the cooking using the sandwich press in ‘melt’ mode where the press is only lightly touching both sides and move onto a more flatter mode after a few minutes – you want the bread to brown and the egg to be cooked through to the middle.
  • Serve with extra fruit sprinkled around and with your favourite topping, such as cream or maple syrup (or for the above image, I used a passionfruit curd!).

Cooking French toast   Sandwich press French toast 2

Per serve (no topping): Calories = 370; Fat = 8g; Carbohydrate = 57g

An hour of cycling, covering 30km = 700 Calories burned (approx)

2 thoughts on “French toast made super fantastic using a sandwich press

  1. Pingback: Passionfruit curd tart with meringue topping | short and sweet

Leave a Reply

