Pan-fried Truffled Brie

plate 2

I love this time of year in Canberra. Clear days and high clouds with cool (but not icy) winds. I won’t say it’s my favourite weather, as it’s not always comfortable, but so long as it’s not wet and overcast, I love it.

Everyone agrees that weather effects emotions and at its most fundamental, warm weather and absence of rain is universally comforting. Winds hit my emotional triggers. Hot summer winds make me edgy, icy winds are just plain icy and no one likes that, but a cool winter wind transports me back to my childhood – hopscotch in the playground, throwing sticks into the creek and running through the back paddocks in gum boots to watch the lambs.

We don’t have lambs in Canberra in late June, but we do start the truffle season. Can I just stop here and say how spoilt we are in Canberra with an abundance of fantastic restaurants, edgy evolving food, excellent local wineries, fresh produce and truffles! I have been hanging out for the start of the Canberra truffle season; it started last weekend and is now all go.  For me it started this weekend with a visit to the EPIC markets to get my hands on some locally grown black truffle.

truffles

Ever since I saw the episode of ‘My France with Manu (Feildel)’ earlier this year where he sandwiched freshly dug truffle between the halves of a wheel of brie and pan-fried it, I have been dying to make it. There’s no way I can go a whole wheel of brie (or afford that much truffle), so I made this with a modest wedge and about 4 g of black truffle. It doesn’t sound like much, but black truffle is quite strong and 4 g goes a long way. I served this with fresh salad, grapes and some toasted sour dough. I have heard that you can make the truffled brie sandwich ahead and store it in the fridge for several hours to allows the truffle to infuse in the brie.

Pan-fried truffled brie

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Serves: 2 (as a starter)

plate 1

Ingredients:

  • 100 g brie, cut into 2 wedges
  • 4 g black truffle, very thinly shaved
  • 1 tablespoon plain flour
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • ¼ cup panko breadcrumbs
  • olive oil, for frying

cheese slices truffle brie sandwich

Method:

  • Slice each piece of brie through the middle and layer with truffle.
  • Place the brie halves back together, to form a brie/truffle sandwich, then lightly dust with flour.
  • Dip brie in egg and drain before coating with breadcrumbs.
  • Heat oil in a pan on a medium heat.
  • Fry the brie for about 30 seconds to a minute on each side until golden.
  • Drain on paper towel and serve immediately.

Serve with toasted sour dough, fresh salad and a cheeky shiraz!

plate 1

mmmmm oozy delicious on a plate!

 

4 thoughts on “Pan-fried Truffled Brie

Leave a Reply

