Cinnabon – cinnamon rolls

cinnabon

When I went to the US of A to live after I finished university I gained weight. I was deeply homesick and I have Cinnabon to thank for giving me the best ever food hug and making me feel all comfortable and warm almost every single day….. When I returned to Australia, I thought I’d never eat a Cinnabon again and that made me sad. Then I found this recipe….

I have ever so slightly modified this for my purposes, notably I err on the side of baking these longer and at a slightly cooler temperature until that are quite browned on the surface, otherwise, I find they can be a little uncooked in the middle set of rolls. This recipe is for a bread machine.

Modified from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/clone-of-a-cinnabon/

Cinnabon – cinnamon rolls

  • Time: >2 hours
  • Difficulty: moderate (multiple steps)
  • Print

Makes: 12 buns of awesomeness

Ingredients:

  • 235 ml full cream milk, warmed to tepid
  • 7 g packet dried yeast
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 75 g margarine (sunflower), melted
  • 615 g plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon bread improver (optional)
  • 220 g light brown sugar
  • 2 ½ tablespoons cinnamon
  • 75 g unsalted butter, very soft
  • 85 g cream cheese, softened
  • 55 g unsalted butter, softened
  • 190 g icing sugar
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • small pinch salt

Method:

  • Activate the yeast by sprinkling over the warmed milk with a teaspoon of the caster sugar and leaving for 5 to 10 minutes.
  • Once the yeast has gone foamy, mix together with the eggs and melted margarine until all incorporated.
  • Place the flour, rest of the sugar, bread improver (if using) and salt in the bread machine bowl, followed by the liquid ingedients.
  • Turn the machine on to ‘dough only’ setting and let it do its stuff.
  • Mix together the cinnamon and brown sugar and set aside.
  • Prepare a baking tray (I use a 32 cm x 23 cm x 3 cm lamington tray), by lightly greasing and lining with baking paper, ensuring the paper comes up over the sides.
  • After the dough has risen, remove from bread machine bowl on to a lightly floured work counter and ‘knock back’ by kneading a little.
  • Roll to dough out into a 54 cm long and 40 cm wide rectangle.
  • Smear the dough with the butter and completely cover with the sugar/cinnamon mixture (it will seem like a lot of sugar!).
  • Carefully roll the dough so you end up with a 54 cm long roll.
  • Cut the roll into 12 pieces (I make my first cut in the centre of the roll, then cut each half in half again and then each quarter into thirds – that way I can ensure I end up with even sized buns).
  • Place each roll cut surface down in the baking tray so you end up with a 3 x 4 pattern; they need to be slightly touching to stop them unwinding. I put any smaller buns towards the centre of the tray, as the rolls tend to cook slower in the centre, so it’s better to have the smaller ones there.

cinnabon tray

  • Cover with a tea towel and leave to rise in a warm place for thirty minutes.
  • Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 200°C (180°C fan forced).
  • Place the rolls in the centre of the oven and bake at 200°C for ten minutes, then turn the oven down to 180°C (160°C fan forced) for a further 15 to 20 minutes, or until they are a deep golden brown.
  • While they are baking, make the cream cheese icing by combining the icing sugar, butter, cream cheese, vanilla extract and salt and beating until light and fluffy.
  • Remove rolls from oven and allow to cool in the pan for ten minutes before icing.
  • Serve warm.
  • These freeze well and I find this is the only way I can stop myself eating the entire batch in one day. Thaw in fridge and rewarm by heating on a low power in the microwave.

cinnabon set

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cinnabon – cinnamon rolls

Leave a Reply

