Baked pears with mascarpone

pear and mascarpone1

I confess I made this because I had leftover mascarpone cheese and a burning desire not to bin it. I scrounged about in my kitchen for something to use it with and I had NO intention of turning this into a blog post. However, when I tasted it, I just had to share. This is so delicious, so bloody fantastic, I can’t keep it to myself. A perfect autumn/winter comforter, or perfect any time! 

Baked pears with mascarpone

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Serves: 2 for a light dessert

Ingredients:

  • 2 pears (I use Corella pears), peeled, base removed, but stems intact
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • ½ vanilla pod, seeds scraped
  • ¼ cup port wine
  • ¼ cup water
  • ¼ cup raisins
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 50 g mascarpone cheese

Method:

  • Preheat oven to oven to 180°C (160°C fan forced).
  • Sit the pears on their bottoms in a cast iron pot with a secure lid (that can go in the oven). Alternatively, do this in a regular stove top pot and transfer to a baking dish for the oven part.
  • Add the vanilla, brown sugar, port, water and raisins and bring to the boil, while basting pears with the syrup.
  • Turn heat to low, clamp down lid and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.
  • Transfer to the oven (lid still on) and bake for 30 minutes, or until the pears are soft, but not mushy, basting a couple of times.
  • Remove from oven and serve hot with a dollop of mascarpone cheese.

pear and mascarpone 2

 

 

2 thoughts on “Baked pears with mascarpone

Leave a Reply

