Two Before Ten, anyone? Aranda shops – sneak peak

The Juggernaut van - complete with cute wooden spoons

The Juggernaut van – complete with cute wooden spoons

Who would’ve thought… it figures

That immortal line by Alanis Morisette says it all for me. I have been a regular drive-past at the Aranda shops for near on ten years now, as both my kids have gone through primary school there. Forlorn, abandoned, crappy. Overrun by the activity at the nearby Jamison shops, which was nearly overrun by Belconnen Westfield and has only recently risen from the ashes. Almost everyday for ten years now I wished they would just do something with those shops, anything, but leave that hideous eyesore with broken windows and boarded-up doors. But what would you know, the irony of it, in September last year, just as I was about to farewell my youngest in year 6 to the big world of high school, a wee little pop up of a cafe opens at the Aranda shops. Not just The Juggernaut – for that’s what it’s called – but the super duper promise of so much more…. 

I’ll cut to the chase, exciting things are about to happen at the Aranda shops. And About Bloody Time.

Brief story of Aranda shops and cafe menu

Brief story of Aranda shops and cafe menu

My Mr Sunshine and I took the opportunity during school holidays to check out the cafe and have a snoop as the shops are being fitted out and setting up. We had coffee (me) and hot chocolate (him) with a slice of banana bread (to share). I’m not a fan of anything baked with banana in it, I find the flavour too intense. But after this beautiful toasted banana bread, I was sold. From what I can tell, most of the bakery menu is courtesy of A. Baker and I assume the banana bread is too. Quite simply, the Best Ever.

Best ever banana bread - and great coffee

Best ever banana bread – and great coffee

So, what will there be at the re-vamped Aranda shops? Apart from the TwoBeforeTen cafe, who are really close to opening a shop front (including roasting their own beans! OMG the aroma!)…

The cafe

The cafe

The cafe - comfy chairs

The cafe – comfy chairs

More of The Cafe

More of The Cafe

Two Before Ten - shop front (out back)

Two Before Ten – shop front (out back)

…there’ll be The Library, a place to relax and read and do stuff with the high-speed wifi they’ll have on offer.

The Library - ready to play!

The Library – ready to play!

And to go with that? A coffee or something stronger… (depending on the time of day), which brings me to

Aranda shop front (out back)

Aranda shop front (out back)

The Bar – or The Bolt Bar, named after Dirk Bolt, who created the original design concept for the Aranda Shops and funnily enough, they are not listed among his ‘notable buildings’ – not surprising – I don’t think it ended up how he planned…

Street view Aranda Shops - not much, eh?

Street view Aranda Shops – not much, eh?

The Bar will be, as it sounds, a bar and the sign on the door says it will be a gastro-bar, so my guess is that food will be involved.

Exciting things happening for locals who have waited so long for some action at the Aranda Shops. I, for one am excited. If you feel like the (very well worth it) visit to The Juggernaut, take the time to sign the book to get updates on how things are progressing. From the shape of the fit-out, I’d say things will be very soon be happening on Banambila Street in Aranda!

sign up is open!

sign up is open!

The Juggernaut - open for business!

The Juggernaut – open for business

 

 

8 thoughts on “Two Before Ten, anyone? Aranda shops – sneak peak

  1. Goldenpudding

    The coffee and food are great, and more importantly, even with only a van and a few stools, it’s already becoming a real local hub… My son is still at Aranda, and every time I go to get a coffee I run into a couple of parents or a teacher – the teachers love their coffee 🙂
    Beck

    Reply
      1. Goldenpudding

        I just got an email that their final inspection is this Fri and they hope to open Mon, so pretty keen to check it out next week – given how great the jaffles are I can’t wait to see the full menu 🙂

Leave a Reply

